The Himalayan Times : Bhairahawa squeeze Janakpur dry - Detail News : Nepal News Portal

Full News

Bhairahawa squeeze Janakpur dry



POKHARA: Region-IV (Bhairahawa) cruised to their second straight victory with a 141-run humbling of Region-VII (Janakpur) in the Wai Wai U-19 National Cricket Tournament today.

The result saw Bhairahawa stay at the top of Group ‘A’ with four points. Region-VIII (Pokhara) are second with two points. A half century from Sabin Shakya helped Bhairahawa to 205 all out in 44.4 overs. Bowlers delivered for Bhairahawa once again bundling out Janakpur for a paltry 64 in 34.5 overs.

Devendra Somare gave Bhairahawa early breakthrough getting rid of Chandan Jha (naught) with seven runs on the board. Another opener Rajaul Mustafa (11) and Ansarul Rain added 19 runs before Sushan Bhari trapped the former leg before.

Janakpur were 33-4 after 17.5 overs with Bibek Chaudhary dismissing Pravash Jha (two) and Ansarul (13) in his two consecutive overs. Sameer Nepal (12) and Saurav Nagbansi (six) took Janakpur to 49 but went on to lose last six wickets for just 15 runs.

Bibek returned with the figures of 3-13 from nine overs that included four maiden. Devendra (2-3), Susan (2-18) and Eklakh Ahmed (2-24) shared six wickets between them. Krishna Sen also took one wicket.

Earlier, openers Shankar Rana and Nirmal Thapa added a quick 32 runs in 3.4 overs for Bhairahawa. Shankar made 14 off 17 with three boundaries before losing his wicket to Sameer. Man-of-the-match Sabin anchored Bhairahawa innings with three modest partnerships. Sabin shared 45 with opener Nirmal, 28 with Bijay Sunar (eight) and 38 with Kirshna (12) taking Bhairahawa close to 150-run mark.

Nirmal hit five boundaries in his 57-ball 33, while Sabin’s 59 came from 69 deliveries where he hit two sixes and seven boundaries before losing his wicket to Sushant Mandal. Prakash KC made 26 off 38 with three boundaries, while Ganesh Gaudel made 12 to take Bhairahawa beyond 200-run mark. Sushant took 4-38 from nine overs. Gopal Singh and Rahul Pratap Singh took two wickets each, while Sameer and Shashi Bhushan Mishra had one scalp apiece.

Full Name

Email Address


Leave Comments

Enter Character above

I accept terms of use.