The Himalayan Times : More protests announced - Detail News : Nepal News Portal

Full News

More protests announced



KATHMANDU: The five parties, including CPN-Maoist, today burnt the agreement of the four major forces — Unified CPN Maoist, NC, CPN-UML and United Democratic Madhesi Front — signed yesterday

to form an election government under the Chief Justice. and announced further protest plans

The five parties include CPN-Maoist, CPN (Maoist), CPN United, Revolutionary Communist Party Nepal and Sanghiye Limbuwan Parishad.

Organising a protest meet at Ratna Park this afternoon, the parties burnt the draft and announced they would hand over a memorandum to President Ram Baran Yadav on Wednesday afternoon protesting the parties’ decision to form a Chief Justice-led election government.

A rally will begin from Lainchour and move

towards Shital Niwas to hand over the memorandum, said Maheswor Dahal, senior leader of CPN-M.

Dahal said more parties could join their front to protest the four-party syndicate by tomorrow.

CPN-M secretary Dev Gurung, CPN (Maoist) chairman Matrika Yadav, senior journalist Yubaraj Ghimire and Pari Thapa of CPN United addressed the protest meet, among others.

Addressing an interaction today, Gurung claimed that his party could boycott the election to be conducted by the unconstitutional government led by the Chief Justice.

He also said this decision will lead the nation to a regressive partyless political system and therefore the nation will not get a way out until Prime Minister Baburam Bhattarai steps down.

Addressing the same

interaction, Unified CPN-Maoist leader Haribol Gajurel said the parties cannot forge consensus until they take a concrete decision on the Truth and Reconciliation Commission.

He said consensus among the parties was delayed just because of the two issues — TRC and citizenship.

Full Name

Email Address


Leave Comments

Enter Character above

I accept terms of use.