KATHMANDU: Nepal Rastra Bank (NRB), the central bank, is issuing and selling commemorative coins of 1,000-rupee and 100-rupee denominations to hail promulgation of the new constitution.

The 1000-rupee coins will be made out of silver, while 100-rupee coins will be made out of cupronickel, says a press statement issued by NRB. Commemorative coins are legal tenders, but they are circulated in the market for general use.

President Ram Baran Yadav yesterday announced the commencement of new constitution prepared by the Constituent Assembly (CA). The new constitution has 35 parts, 308 articles and nine schedules.

The CA, elected by the second CA elections held in November 2013, had held its first meeting on January 22, 2014. The CA held 135 meetings, including 130 full meetings, in 130 days.