Nepal | July 08, 2020

NEA to import additional 80 MW power from India

Pushpa Raj Acharya
Share Now:

Kathmandu, December 23

The state-owned Nepal Electricity Authority has signed an agreement with NTPC Vidyut Vyapar Nigam, a wholly owned subsidiary of India’s state-owned National Thermal Power Corporation, to purchase additional 80 megawatts of electricity via Muzaffarpur-Dhalkebar cross-border transmission line.

The power purchase agreement was signed by NEA Managing Director Kulman Ghising and NVVN Chief Executive Officer Arun Kumar Garg, under the same terms and conditions including the power purchase rate of INR 3.60 (Rs 5.76) per kWh that were agreed upon in February, according to Prabal Adhikari, chief of the Power Trade Department of NEA.

Currently NEA has been importing 80 MW via Muzaffarpur-Dhalkebar. “The quantum of electricity will be increased up to 120 MW via Muzaffarpur-Dhalkebar from January 1 and up to 160 MW from February to May-end,” Adhikari told THT.

Additional power import from India was possible after the Power Grid Corporation of India recently installed 100 MVA transformer in Muzaffarpur sub-station.

NEA has said there would be 40 MW round-the-clock power supplied to Hetauda region from Dhalkebar so that the power utility can transfer power evacuated from Trishuli (21 MW) and Devighat (14 MW) hydropower projects that is being supplied to the Hetauda region to Kathmandu.

According to Adhikari, NEA is also preparing to import additional 220 MW of electricity (including the 80 MW from Muzaffarpur-Dhalkebar) on top of the total 300 MW power being imported from India.

As Kusaha-Kataiya and Parwanipur-Raxaul transmission lines are being upgraded under the grant assistance of the Indian government, which is expected to be completed within a month, the country is planning to import additional 50 MW through each of the transmission lines.

Likewise, NEA is preparing to import additional 40 MW from Mahendranagar-Tanakpur as well.

A version of this article appears in print on December 24, 2016 of The Himalayan Times.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories:

More from The Himalayan Times:


Have you considered UK for future studies? You might, with the new Graduate Route provision

KATHMANDU: The United Kingdom government has announced -- a good news for international students -- that those willing to work in the UK post their graduation will be able to do so under the new graduate programme. The UK-based international students who hold a valid Tier 4 visa will be able to b Read More...

Bayern Munich's Franck Ribery

Ribery suffers double blow with injury and burglary

MILAN: Former France international Franck Ribery was not only injured playing for Fiorentina on Sunday but returned home to find he had been robbed too, the player said on social media on Monday. Ribery limped off with a foot injury after a second half collision in the 2-1 victory at Parma as his Read More...

India surpasses Russia becoming third worst COVID-19-hit country

KATHMANDU: India has become the third worst-hit country by the COVID-19 pandemic, surpassing Russia in total number of confirmed cases of the disease. In the last 24 hours, India has reported 22,252 fresh cases and 467 coronavirus fatalities, according to the Union Health Ministry of India. The c Read More...

Brazil President Bolsonaro tests positive for coronavirus

SAO PAULO: Brazilian President Jair Bolsonaro said on Tuesday he tested positive for the novel coronavirus, adding in a television interview that he was in good health despite running a fever. The right-wing populist, who has played down the severity of the virus which he has called a "l Read More...

Chelsea close in on Champions League spot with 3-2 win at Palace

LONDON: Chelsea kept up their push for a top-four finish in the Premier League and Champions League football next season with a 3-2 victory at London rivals Crystal Palace on Tuesday thanks to goals from Olivier Giroud, Christian Pulisic and Tammy Abraham. The visitors took a two-goal lead i Read More...

Singh Durbar

New nuke law stipulates plan for disaster management

KATHMANDU, JULY 7 The Radioactive Materials Use and Regulation Act, 2020, recently authenticated by President Bidhya Devi Bhandari, requires the Government of Nepal to develop and implement a disaster preparedness and management plan at the national level to prevent and manage any disastrous impa Read More...

Furdiki Sherpa and Nima Doma Sherpa

Hit hard by pandemic, Sherpa widows face uphill battle

KATHMANDU, JULY 7 After conquering Mount Everest and shattering taboos, two Nepali Sherpa widows face a new challenge, the coronavirus pandemic, which has shut down all climbing and trekking activities rendering them jobless. Nima Doma Sherpa and Furdiki Sherpa made global headlines when t Read More...