Image Award nominees announced

KATHMANDU: The wait is over as 10th annual Tuborg Image Award nominees were announced at a press meet on May 19 at Ed.e.n Lounge, Kathmandu Mall. Though the function was to be held a few months earlier, it could not due to the elections.

During the press meet RK Manandhar, President of Image Channel Pvt Ltd said, “Image channel has always worked for the development of Nepali music and will continue to do so. This event is organised each year to honour and appreciate the artistes for their involvement in the field. We believe that involvement and participation will generate more interest among the artistes and the public.”

This year there are 25 categories which are divided into four groups — General, Special, Music Video and National Language.

In each category there are five nominees. The winner will be chosen depending on the combined results of public vote and special jury decision.

To cast votes for their favourite artistes, the public can use radio, television, national dailies, SMS and online voting mediums.

The Image Lifetime Achievement Award will be given to veteran singer Yogesh Vaidya and renowned lyricist Kiran Kharel.