Tara singer disqualified

Kathmandu: Samsung Nepali Tara, the search for a singing star, has decided 20 winners from its initial 8,000 participants at the end of the third round. They are: Dharmendra Sewan, Bhawin Dhungana, Indira Joshi, Ramesh Pokharel, Pushpa Poudel, Rupak Chandra Dotel, Jhuma Niraula, Shrijan Kumar Lwagun, Deepak Limbu, Durga Kharel, Sanjeev Parajuli, Nitin Chandra Gajurel, Tara Luksum, Reshu Babu Budharaj, Shital Yonzan, Narayan Neupane, Shantosh Lama, Suman Rumba, Prem BK and Lalkaji Shrestha. Inside story: The reader may be surprised to see the name of Jhuma Niraula in the list as Niraula exited in the earlier round. The reason is Arjun Sunam selected in the top twenties flouted his contract of not recording or performing during the contest and released a solo album. He was disqualified and Niraula, occupying 21st position on the list, replaced him. Ranjit Acharya, MD of Studio 4, said, “Participants are not allowed this as it may add to their popularity and create undue bias in the audience’s mind. The next round is the voters’ round.” — HNS