29 UCPN-M central members object to party decision to support Oli

KATHMANDU: As many as 29 central committee members of the UCPN-Maoist objected to the party decision to support CPN-UML Chairman KP Sharma Oli for the new Prime Minister.

Most of the dissident leaders are considered close to leader Baburam Bhattarai, who left the party after promulgation of the new Constitution.

They said the party's decision to support Oli unconditionally has put the nation at a further risk.

"It has been made public that our party has decided to support the UML-led government without any concrete and reliable foundation to solve the existing national problems," they said in a press statement today.

Dubbing the decision wrong and irresponsible, the leaders said the party instead should have led all parties to solve the current political crisis and bring the agitating forces to the negotiation table.

Signatories of the statement include Devendra Paudel, Ram Chandra Jha, Hisila Yami, Prabhu Sah, Mahendra Paswan, Ram Rijhan Yadav and Khimlal Devkota among others.