Nepal | May 25, 2020

Baburam Bhattarai inducts 35 members in New Force’s ICC

Himalayan News Service
Share Now:
baburam bhattarai

Former Prime Minister Baburam Bhattarai speaking with journalists, in New Baneshwor of Kathmandu, on Saturday, November 21, 2015. Photo: RSS

Kathmandu, January 24

Former Prime Minister Baburam Bhattarai today formally announced the names of 35 members of the Interim Central Council of his New Force, which would turn into a political party soon.

Organising a press conference here today, Bhattarai said the ICC would have a total of 265 members. He also collected Rs 1,000 each from all 35 members of ICC.

Bhattarai introducing the 35 members of the ICC said they joined the New Force because they were inspired by the vision of his new force.

Those included in the ICC were artistes Ashok Sharma, Karishma Manandhar and Saroj Khanal; former bureaucrats Rameshwor Khanal and Praveen Mishra; analysts Mumaram Khanal and Dambar Khatiwada; and Dalit activists Durga Sob and Dal Mardan Kami and differently-able Kamala Hemchuri.

Bhattarai has also included former Unified CPN-Maoist leaders Devendra Paudel and Ram Chandra Jha in the ICC. Poudel and Jha had deserted UCPN-Maoist to join Bhattarai’s new force.

Addressing today’s press meet, Industrialist Binod Chaudhary said it was good to have a party, which had economic prosperity and development as its major agendas. He said politics should not only be used as a means to serve one’s personal interests but to work for the people and the country.

The central headquarters of the New Force Nepal has been set up in Babarmahal of Kathmandu.

Bhattarai had severed ties with Unified CPN-Maoist last year claiming that the party bring about transformation in the country.

Responding to a query of reporters on how Bhattarai’s new force could develop the nation, Bhattarai said his party would focus on development-based politics instead of holding agitation. He also said that his force would also have experts from various fields and youth.

Those joining new the force today are ex-AIG of APF Rishav Dev Bhattarai, ex-AIG of Nepal Police Ganesh Raj Rai, Keshav Dahal, Dr Keshav Man Shakya from Nepa Rastriya Party, Dr Jitendra Mahaseth, Tilak Thapa Magar General Secretary of Communist Party of Nepal, ex-AIG of APF Narayan Pande, Madan Rai, Dr Mukti Rijal, Development Activist Mohani Maharjan, Dr Rajendra KC, Dr Ram Kewal Sah, Lily Thapa, Bajra Kishor Yadav, Dr Surendra Chaudhary, Hareram Koirala and Nathu Prasad Chaudhary.

A version of this article appears in print on January 25, 2016 of The Himalayan Times.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories:

More from The Himalayan Times:

Curfew begins from 8:00 in Narainpur, Banke

BANKE: The District Administration Office, Banke, has imposed curfew at Narainapur area from 8:00 pm. Chief District Officer (CDO) Kumar Bahadur Khadka said that the curfew order would be effective until another notice is issued. The district security committee has also decided to mobilise a Read More...

Moderate rainfall projected this monsoon

KATHMANDU: Average rainfall is projected across the country during the monsoon this year, according to the South Asian Climate Outlook Forum (SACOF). Under the initiative of the World Meteorological Organisation, SACOF has been providing an outlook on climate in South Asian Region every y Read More...

Capital’s blood banks running on low reserves

All components out of stock Blood donation campaigns need of the hour to end crisis Kathmandu, May 24 With the rise in the number of coronavirus cases across the country and the looming fear of coronavirus spread, there has been a major decline in blood donation campaigns in the capita Read More...

Speaker for consensus on revising emblem

Kathmandu, May 24 Speaker Agni Prasad Sapkota urged political parties to forge consensus on the constitution amendment bill that the government had registered on Friday seeking to amend Schedule 3 of the constitution to include revised map of Nepal in the coat of arms. According to Sapkota’s Read More...

NC proposes relief for COVID-hit businesses

Moots hundred-day employment for those rendered jobless Kathmandu, May 24 The Special Economic Committee of Nepali Congress led by Ram Sharan Mahat today submitted its report to the party’s President Sher Bahadur Deuba highlighting the current economic status of the country and measures to b Read More...

‘Rs 250 billion worth stimulus package required’

Kathmandu, May 24 A special committee formed by the Nepali Congress to study the impact of COVID-19 and suggest a way forward submitted its report to NC President Sher Bahadur Deuba on Sunday, suggesting the need to introduce a stimulus package worth Rs 250 billion to help businesses revive and c Read More...

With 19 more cases, COVID count tops 600

Kathmandu, May 24 Nineteen new cases of the novel coronavirus infection were diagnosed today, taking the national count for COVID-19 to 603. All of those detected with the respiratory syndrome today are men, including six from Rupandehi, three each from Kapilvastu and Parsa, and one each from Read More...

Returnees from India posing high risk in Bajura

Bajura, May 24 Increasing influx of Nepali migrant workers from India to Bajura has posed high risk to people in the district. The inflow of people into Nepal has grown after India eased restrictions on movement of migrant workers amid the COVID-19 pandemic. According to Inspector Dan Bahadur Read More...