Govt beginning geological survey in 16 districts

KATHMANDU: The Department of Mines and Geology has deputed geologists' teams to 16 districts which were hit by the April 25 earthquake and its aftershocks and turned vulnerable to landslides.

The teams are assigned to carry out geological survey in the districts with land slip, sink and crevices caused by the earthquake. They will work under the Settlements Relocation Committee comprising lawmakers.

Lamjung, Gorkha, Dhading, Nuwakot, Rasuwa, Sindhupalchok, Dolakha, Ramechhap, Sindhuli, Okhaldhunga, Kavrepalanchok, Solukhumbu, Tanahun, Khotang, and Lalitpur have been selected for the geological survey, according to Department Director General Sarbajeet Prasad Mahato.

Besides, the Department is sending a geologists' team to Nanglebhare of Shankarapur Municipality in Kathmandu.

The Department is planning to present study reports to the Ministry of Home Affairs within this week.

Teams of geologists and meteorologists which were scheduled to fly to Solukhumbu and Dolakha districts on Friday to take stock of glacial lakes in view of possible outburst in aftermath of the massive earthquake were forced to cancel the trip due to adverse weather.