EC submits NA election result to president

Kathmandu, February 11

The Election Commission today submitted the result of the National Assembly election to President Bidhya Devi Bhandari.

The NA election was held on February 7, which elected 56 members from seven provinces for the Upper House. Result of the election was declared the same day. As per the constitutional provision, the poll panel has to furnish NA election result to the head of the state within a week after the poll result is announced.

All EC commissioners, including Chief Election Commissioner Ayodhi Prasad Yadav, reached  the president’s office at 11:00am to submit the election result.

Issuing a press release, EC Spokesperson Navaraj Dhakal said President Bhandari expressed satisfaction and thanked the EC for successfully holding all levels of elections successfully. She said it would be easy to move ahead the process of giving full shape to the federal Parliament after the result of NA election.

CEC Yadav told the president that the EC would submit final result of the parliamentary election within this week, according to Dhakal. Yadav also handed over an invitation to President Bhandari, requesting her to be the chief guest of a programme being held by the EC on February 19 on occasion of second Voters’ Day.

The CPN- UML won 27 NA seats, Nepali Congress 13, CPN-Maoist Center 12, and Rastriya Janata Party-Nepal and Federal Socialist Forum-Nepal two seats each.

Of the 59 NA seats, President Bhandari will nominate three members on the recommendation of the government.

The election body said it had planned to submit the result of the parliamentary proportional representation election to the president by February 14, and has asked the parties to recommend names of winners by 5:00pm Monday. EC commissioners Ila Sharma, Narendra Dahal, Ishwori Prasad Paudel and Sudhir Kumar shah were present on the occasion.