Nepal | November 12, 2019

ECAN election for new leadership to be held today

Himalayan News Service

Kathmandu, February 26

The election for new leadership of the Educational Consultancy Association of Nepal, an umbrella organisation of education consultancies across the country is being held tomorrow.

Two panels led by Prakash Pandey and Saroj Kumar Basnet are competing for the presidency of the organisation that is involved in providing education consultancy services to students aspiring to study abroad.

Pandey is the first vice-president of ECAN and executive director of Putalisadak-based Mate’s Education Consultancy, while Basnet is the third-vice president of the organisation and proprietor of Bagbaazar-based NETCOTEC Educational Consultancy.

Both panels have put forth their election agendas and have pledged to take the organisation to a new height.

They have also pledged to take initiatives to amend the directives related to educational consultancy and language teaching prepared by the government to regulate education consultancies and language teaching centres.

Increasing professional activities by identifying new destination for abroad studies, organising discussion, workshop and training programme by coordinating with foreign missions, taking initiatives for the construction of well-equipped building for ECAN as well as amending the directives related to educational consultancy and language teaching are some of the few agendas put forth by Pandey panel.

Similarly, Basnet has pledged to transform ECAN into a council. “I want to develop the organisation in such a way that it is recognised across the globe,” said Pandey, adding, “I have the support of all former members and senior officials of the association.”

The candidates for vice-presidents from Pandey-led panel are Bishnu Hari Pandey, Salikram Bhandari and Yashoda Bhattarai. Similarly, Santosh Pyakurel is candidate for general secretary.

Shreeram Paudel and Devidas Bhattarai are candidates for secretaries, while Khadga Tamling Limbu is competing for the post of treasurer and Ramesh Wagle for joint-treasurer.

Govinda Adhikari, Deepak Raj Bhusal, Nirupama Maharjan, Balkrishna Shrestha, Pradeep Mandal, Prakash Shrestha and Yagyabilash Paudel are the candidates for members from Pandey-led panel.

Likewise, Mahesh Babu Timilsina, Rajendra Risal and Niraj Sitaula are candidates for vice-president from the Basnet-panel. Mahesh Bhandari is competing the post of general secretary from the panel.

Likewise, Umesh Dhungel and Rajani Shrestha are candidates for secretary, Bharat Regmi for treasurer, Rakesh Shrestha for joint-treasurer and Surya Bahadur Dangi, Kamala Basnet, DR Thapa, Ramesh Thapa, Riti Tandukar, Prasant Shah, Ramesh Joshi and Bikram KC for members from Basnet-led panel. “I have the strength and expertise to drive the organisation to a new height,” he said.

A version of this article appears in print on February 27, 2016 of The Himalayan Times.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories: