Election Commission apprises leaders of poll preparations

KATHMANDU: The Election Commission on Friday apprised senior leaders of 25 political parties represented in the Parliament of internal preparations of the constitutional body for upcoming elections.

Chief Election Commissioner Ayodhi Prasad Yadav at a discussion held at the Commission informed the leaders of the preparations for the local, provincial and federal elections.

According to the Commission's Joint-Secretary and Spokesperson Surya Prasad Sharma, Chief Election Commissioner Yadav briefed the leaders on the constitutional provisions on political parties and the tasks to be undertaken by them accordingly.

The programme was attended by Nepali Congress President Sher Bahadur Deuba, CPN-UML Vice-Chairman Bamdev Gautam, UML Parliamentary Party Deputy Leader Subas Chandra Nembang, CPN Maoist Centre leader Narayan Kaji Shrestha, Rastriya Prajatantra Party Chairman Pashupati Shumsher Rana and Madhesi Janaadhikar Forum-Democratic Chairman Bijaya Kumar Gachhadar.

Similarly, the Federal Socialist Forum-Nepal Chairman Upendra Yadav, Madhesi Janadhikar Forum-Republican Chairman Raj Kishor Yadav, CPN-ML General Secretary Chandra Prakash Mainali, Sadbhawana Party Chairman Rajendra Mahato, Nepal Sadbhawana Party Chairman Anil Kumar Jha, Akhanda Party Chairman Kumar Khadka and Nepal Janata Dal Chairman Hari Charan Shah were also present in the discussion.