Nepal | July 13, 2020

Four ambassadorial nominees file case at SC

Himalayan News Service
Share Now:

Kathmandu, August 15

Four persons, who were among the 14 ambassadorial nominees, whose names were withdrawn by the Pushpa Kamal Dahal-led government, filed a writ petition today challenging the government’s decision.

Among those who filed the writ petition today are Yubraj Karki, Khadga Bahadur KC, Narad Bhardwaj and Shivmaya Tumbahamphe, according to Assistant Spokesperson of Supreme Court Bishwaraj Paudel.

Out of 22 people that the erstwhile KP Sharma Oli-led government had nominated as ambassadors, the Dahal government withdrew the names of 14 ambassadorial nominees.

The lucky eight people were career diplomats who survived the politics of changed power equation.

Bhardwaj said the petitioners challenged the Dahal government’s decision to withdraw their names mainly because the government had violated their right to equality.

Instead of writing a letter to the Speaker, the government directly wrote to the PHSC. “We have argued that it was an arbitrary decision on the part of the government because the PHSC had conducted hearing for almost half the number of nominees when the others’ names were withdrawn,” he added.

He also said that the government’s decision to withdraw the names of ambassadorial nominees at a time when the matter was sub-judice at the PHSC, also challenged the supremacy of the Parliament.

A version of this article appears in print on August 16, 2016 of The Himalayan Times.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories:

More from The Himalayan Times:

In Pictures: NSU cadres protest price hike on petroleum products

Kathmandu, July 12 Nepal Student Union caders stage protest, in Kathmandu, on Sunday, against recent price hike on petroleum products. Photo: Naresh Shrestha/THT Read More...

82 cases reported, Nepal's Covid-19 case count stands at 16,801

KATHMANDU: As many as eighty-two cases of coronavirus infection were reported on Sunday, taking Nepal's Covid-19 tally to 16,801. In the last 24 hours, 3916 swabs were tested across 25 laboratories in the country, of which only 82 were detected with the virus contraction, according to the Ministr Read More...

Caste and the subtle psychology behind it

Kathmandu, July 12 When 21-year-old Navaraj set out to marry the girl he loved, I suspect he had certain admonitions. A Dalit boy was cruising through treacherous waters when he dared to dream beyond his allowance and wished to marry Sushma Malla, an upper-caste Hindu. He knew the dangers this bl Read More...

OPINION: Dreaming pelicans - The healing of release and forgiveness

 I was let go of my adaptive sports job in mid-March 2020. On some level, I knew this was a blessing, but on another, this was frightening. Although I’m searching for a new job, there isn’t much available. Together with some friends and adaptive athletes, we’ve decided to pursue the foundi Read More...

Nepal COVID-19 Update: 82 new cases, 147 recoveries reported Sunday

KATHMANDU: Nepal’s Health Ministry, in its regular press briefing, shared the latest updates on coronavirus contagion from across the country, and government’s response to the health crisis. As of today, 283,515 tests through Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR) method have been carried out, Read More...

Relief packge provided for those reeling under virus crisis in Bajura

BAJURA: Relief materials were shared in the district with those reeling under coronavirus crisis. Chairman of Nepal Healthcare Equipment Development Foundation (NHEDF) Samrat Singh Basnet and Andrea Drewer, jointly with Badimalika Khabar, have come forward to provide assistance to hit-hard by the Read More...

One more body recovered from Jajarkot landslide

JAJARKOT: One more body of an individual who went missing in the landslide in Barekot Rural Municipality, Jajarkot, was recovered on Sunday. With this, the landslip death-toll here reached 10. The deceased has been identified as Kamal  Sarki (11), daughter of Kalu Sarki who also died in this Read More...

England set Windies 200-run victory target in first test

SOUTHAMPTON: England were bowled out for 313 in their second innings at the Ageas Bowl on Sunday, setting the West Indies a victory target of 200 on the final day of the first test. Hosts England resumed their innings at 284-8 -- a lead of 170 -- with tail-enders Jofra Archer and Mark Wood at Read More...