Govt forms Medical Education Commission

Kathmandu, January 22

The government today formed a Medical Education Commission under the leadership of Education Minister Girirajmani Pokharel.

The Cabinet meeting held today decided to form the MEC with education minister as its chairperson, while Dr Bhagawan Koirala has been appointed its executive vice-chairman.

According to Minister Pokhrel, the Cabinet has decided to appoint secretary or joint secretary each from the health and education ministries, dean of Patan Academy of Health Sciences, and chairpersons of Medical Council and Nursing Council as ex-officio members of the MEC. Other members of the MEC are Dr Srijana Shrestha, Dr Jagadish Agrawal, Dr Arjun Karki, Dr Shrikrishna Giri and Dr Suresh Kumar Kanaudiya.

Minister Pokhrel said the government has formed the commission on the recommendation of the Mathema Commission and as per the agreement signed with Dr Govinda KC. The cabinet meeting also decided to promote four acting secretaries to secretaries. Those promoted to the post of secretaries are Chandra Ghimire, Shashi Shekhar Shrestha, Laxmi Dhakal and Shankar Koirala.

Ghimire has been deputed to the Office of the Prime Minister and Council of Ministers, while Shrestha, Koirala and Ghimire have been deputed as administrators of the mid-western, central and far-western regions respectively. Secretary Shridhar Sapkota has been transferred to Public Service Commission from the OPMCM.