Nepal | July 05, 2020

Guidelines on conservation and reconstruction of heritages enacted

Himalayan News Service
Share Now:

Kathmandu, August 20

The government has enacted the ‘Basic Guidelines on Conservation and Reconstruction of Heritages Damaged by Earthquake, 2016’ on the recommendation of experts to address the issues raised after the earthquake of April 25, 2015.

The earthquake and subsequent aftershocks had killed nearly 8,900 people and injured 22,000 others besides destroying or damaging tens of thousands of public and private structures. The devastating earthquake also caused a heavy loss to scores of historical and cultural heritages. According to the Department of Archaeology, more than 1,000 heritages of Kathmandu, Lalitpur, Bhaktapur, Nuwakot and Gorkha, among other districts, suffered severe damage.

World Heritage Sites in the Kathmandu Valley were hit the worst with 90 per cent of structures destroyed in Hanumandhoka Durbar Square alone. More than 140 monuments, including Dharahara and Chagunarayan, of historical and cultural significance were reduced to rubble.

For the reconstruction and conservation of the structures, the guidelines have classified the physical cultural heritages into three types — heritage site, monument and object.

The classified heritages fall under the direct jurisdiction of the DoE as per the Ancient Monument Preservation Act, 1963. The DoA may collaborate with other national and international agencies or personalities or grant them approval for renovation and reconstruction of the structures.

As per the guidelines, the DoA shall receive financial and technical resources, and mobilise them for the purpose of renovation, conservation and reconstruction of heritages. It has put the renovation of heritages and monuments damaged or destroyed by the earthquake on top priority.

“The government or responsible agencies shall carry out renovation and reconstruction works of the damaged or destroyed historical and cultural heritages on the basis of available evidences, not on hypothetical speculation,” read the guidelines. It also requires the authorities to adopt traditional construction materials, technologies and techniques as far as possible and ensure participation of the locals while dealing with heritages of all types.

The standard and procedure for the renovation and reconstruction of the heritage sites, monuments and objects shall be as determined by the Guidelines, it says.

A version of this article appears in print on August 21, 2016 of The Himalayan Times.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories:

More from The Himalayan Times:

Locusts devour crops on 1,100 hectares

KATHMANDU, JULY 3 Desert locusts have damaged crops cultivated on 1,100 hectares of land across the country. According to the Locusts Information Centre, eight districts have reported damage caused by locusts till date. Of them, Dang is the worst hit and Palpa the least. The locusts devoure Read More...

World Bank elevates Nepal to ‘lower middle income economy’

Country saw its GNI per capita rise to $1,090 in 2019, but economists says it doesn’t mean much in terms of development KATHMANDU, JULY 3 Nepal is now officially a lower-middle income country, an upgrade from its previous status as low income nation, according to the World Bank’s latest coun Read More...

Oli, Dahal in bid to save NCP unity

If the two co-chairs fail to act as per the spirit of the party unity document, maintaining party unity will be difficult  - NCP leader Mani Thapa KATHMANDU, JULY 3 Co-chairs of the ruling Nepal Communist Party (NCP) — Pushpa Kamal Dahal and Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli — held talks for thr Read More...

Kailali's Bhajani Municipality, Joshipur Rural Municipality inundated

KAILALI, JULY 3 Bhajani and Joshipur of Kailali have been inundated after floodwaters gushed into the settlements. According to eyewitnesses, many houses in Wards 2, 3, 6 and 8 of Bhajani Municipality have been inundated. Local Ganga Chaudhary said floodwaters from local Kandra and Kadha ri Read More...

Ministry develops guidelines for rehab centres

KATHMANDU, JULY 3 The Ministry of Women, Children and Senior Citizens has developed guidelines for operation of rehabilitation centres to ensure that vulnerable persons at the centres do not contract COVID-19. MoWCSC said the new guidelines would be effective until Nepal was declared coronavir Read More...

Nepali Congress Ram Chandra Paudel

Country pushed into crisis: Paudel

DAMAULI, JULY 3 Senior Nepali Congress leader Ramchandra Paudel said sudden prorogation of the Parliament was unfortunate for the nation. “At a time when the nation is fighting a deadly disease, the decision to prorogue the Parliament has pushed the country further into the crisis,” said t Read More...

Holding centre in Khotang

KHOTANG, JULY 3 A 10-bed holding centre has been established in Diktel, the district headquarters of Khotang, for returnees. According to Chief District Officer and District COVID-19 Crisis Management Centre coordinator Shaligram Sharma Poudel, Nepali Army personnel and Red Cross staff jointly Read More...

Visit Nepal 2020 mascot, yeti

Former Visit Nepal secretariat seeks more budget from Tourism Ministry

KATHMANDU, JULY 3 Even after the government has scrapped the secretariat of the Visit Nepal 2020 campaign, the secretariat has submitted more unpaid bills to the Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation (MoCTCA). Addressing a press meet today to unveil the ministry’s work progress dur Read More...