Hearing on Bharatpur vote count on June 20

KATHMANDU:  The Supreme Court  has again set hearing on a case of re-poll at Bharatpur Metropolis, ward no. 19 for June 20.

A divisional bench of Acting Chief Justice Gopal Parajuli and Justice Hari Krishna Karki has set the hearing date on the case for June 20 citing time reasons today, shared SC Joint Spokesperson Biswo Raj Poudel.

Earlier, the hearing was designated to the divisional bench of Justice Biswombhar Prasad Shrestha and Prakash Man Singh Raut on June 11. The hearing was set for June 13 (today) citing lack of time to look after the case.

A single bench of Justice Cholendra Shumsher JB Rana on June 5 had issued an interim order to not implement the Election Commission's decision to hold re-poll at Bharatpur Metropolis-19.

Meanwhile, the government's application demanding annulment of SC's interim order not to increase the number of local levels in Terai region has been rejected.

SC Registrar Nripa Dhwoj Niraula rejected the application noting that the interim order was issued after taking into consideration the arguments of both sides.

A divisional bench of Justice duo, Iswor Khatiwada and Sapana Pradhan had issued the interim order to stay the government's decision to increase number of local levels.

There is no provision to present the application to the bench again as per the Supreme Court-2049 BS, Rule 41(1) so the government's application was rejected, said writ petitioner advocate Dhan Bahadur Shrestha.

Attorney General Raman Kumar Shrestha on behalf of the government had registered application at the SC demanding vacate the earlier decision of apex court on June 5