14 schools awarded

BHAKTAPUR: The Higher Secondary Education Board awarded Rs 500,000 each to 14 model higher secondary schools across the country this year. Education Minister Radha Krishna Mainali gave away the amount to the schools on Monday. Speaking on the occasion, Minister Mainali said the prize would help promote competitive spirit among the schools, thereby contributing in the promotion of quality education. The awarded schools are Birendra HSS, Chandragadhi; Bhadgaun Sunubari HSS, Sunsari; Janata HSS, Siraha; Jiri HSS, Dolakha; Tribhuvan HSS, Makawanpur; Sanjivani HSS, Kavre; Amar Singh HSS, Kaski; Bhairahawa HSS, Rupandehi; Shivalaya HSS, Parbat; Padmodaya Public HSS, Dang; Mahendra HSS, Nepalgunj; Mahakali HSS, Mugu; Saraswoti HSS, Kailali and Mahendra HSS, Darchula. — RSS

New course added

BHAKTAPUR: The Khopa Engineering College run by the Bhaktapur Municipality has introduced a course on earthquake disaster mitigation in the master’s’ level in the Faculty of Engineering. This course has been introduced for the first time in Nepal with an aim to providing quality education in the subject and producing capable technical manpower, said Dr Rajan Suwal. He said such studies would help minimize the losses of life and property during earthquakes. — RSS