In brief

Pilots form body

KATHMANDU: With the objective of securing their rights, helicopter pilots have formed an 11-member Nepal Helicopter Pilots’ Association. While captain Pemba Sherpa, Kavin Basnet, Mingma Tshering Sherpa, Prakash Shedai and Pasang Sherpa are the president, vice-president, general secretary, secretary and treasurer of the body, respectively, Hira Dahal, Niranjankant Silwal, Nishal KC, Dipak JBR and Chet Bahadur Gurung are members of the executive committee of the body. — HNS

13 students freed

KATHMANDU: The Kathmandu District Court on Tuesday freed 10 students affiliated to the ANNFSU, including Ananda Shrestha, Nabin Gautam and Sunita Rokka, and NSU activists Parasmani Ghimire, Kedar Karki and Lalit Shrestha. They were held for staging a rally outside Saraswati Campus on March 3. — HNS

Students selected

KATHMANDU: Deep Shres-tha, Rijan Shrestha and Abiral Sthapit of Nepal, members of the class of 2009, have qualified for the Dean’s List at Providence College for the Fall 2005 semester, a release issued on Tuesday said. — HNS

SC verdict lauded

KATHMANDU: The NGO Federation of Nepal (NFN) has hailed the Supreme Court decision to scrap the RCCC. The decision has proved the country cannot be run arbitrary manner, the NFN said. — HNS