Journalists arrested

KATHMANDU: Police on Wednesday arrested journalists associated with the Nepal Press Union (NPU) in the wake of a protest programme by the latter in the capital. Those arrested include Murari Kumar Sharma, Bindu Kant Ghimire, Shiv Devkota, Kiran Pokharel and Shital Koirala. They have been detained at the Ward Police Station near Singha Durbar in Anamnagar. Nepali Congress (NC) Spokesman Arjun Narsingh KC and leaders of other political parties went to the police station to meet the detained journalists. They condemned the arrests and sought the scribes’ immediate release. — HNS