Nepal | February 22, 2020

DEO begins process of scrapping 13 schools

Himalayan News Service

Lalitpur, August 22

Lalitpur District Education Office has begun the process of scrapping 13 private schools in the district that have not been in operation since the past few years.

Gokarna Dhowj Karki, deputy district education officer of Lalitpur, today said the office had already begun the process of scrapping schools which were not operating for more than three years. He stated that they had acted upon a directive from the Department of Education.

After preliminary investigation, 13 schools were found to have remained inactive for a few years, while some schools which were not in operation had applied to change their names and location.

The schools to be scrapped are Dolahiti-based Jyoti Academy, Harisiddi-based Sunny Side Academy, Kupondole-based Bridgewater School, Kutisaugal-based Crescent Secondary School, Kumaripati-based Kent Secondary Boarding School, Lubhu-based Dibya Jyoti English Secondary School, Thasikhel-based Mount Boarding Secondary School, Champi-based Gyan Avatar Boarding School and Buddi Sharada Primary School.

Out of 13 schools, four are from Lagankhel Gorkha Memorial English School, World Vision English School, Purnatara School and Caretop School.

On August 17, DEO, Lalitpur had given 35 days’ ultimatum to the schools to furnish necessary documents and claim that the schools were running continuously if they wanted to resume operation.

The DEO had sought photocopy of DEO’s permission to run the school, proof of the schools’ inclusion in flash report and proof of participation in the SLC exam for the past three years from secondary schools.

For lower secondary schools, DEO had sought proof of participation in district level exam, photocopy of audit report, proof of formation of School Management Committee and proof of having proposed fee structure, among others.

Similarly, some schools which were not in operation for long but had applied for changing their names and locations have also been asked to submit certain documents such as schools’ application letter, school building and land agreement letter for five years if the school had been using other’s property and blue print of the land and house if it had its own property and original letter of recommendation from the respective VDC or municipality, among others.

Mahapal-based Phulchowki Secondary School, Talchikhel-based Araniko Secondary School, Sanepa-based Mamata Bidhya Sadan and National Institute of Science, Lagankhel-based Global Higher Secondary School and Prajwol Pre-Primary School, Balkumari-based Milestone International School and Jharuwarasi-based Nababihani Primary School have recently applied to change their names and locations.

A version of this article appears in print on August 23, 2016 of The Himalayan Times.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories: