Nepal | October 15, 2019

Madan Mani Dixit to be given highest civilian award posthumously

Himalayan News Service

Kathmandu, September 20

The government has announced that President Bidhya Devi Bhandari will confer medals, awards, decoration and honours on 634 personalities, living or dead, from different walks of life in recognition of their valuable contribution to the country.

The announcement was made to mark the Constitution Day today. According to a notice issued by the Ministry of Home Affairs, the highest civilian award of Mahaujjwal Rastradeep (first class) will be presented to veteran literary figure Madan Mani Dixit and late Rabindra Prasad Adhikari, posthumously. Adhikari, the then minister of culture, tourism and civil aviation, had died in a chopper crash in Taplejung district in February.

The government has decided to honour Professor Divya Singh Shah, who is also a personal physician to Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli, and tourism entrepreneur late Ang Tshering Sherpa with Suprasiddha Prabal Janasewa Shree (first class). Sherpa was also killed in the chopper crash along with the then minister Adhikari. Chief Justice Cholendra Shunsher JBR, Professor Anantharaman Vatshala of Singapore and Professor Anant Kumar, Dr Rajeev K Sharma and Dr Harsha Dua of India are also among the recipients of Suprasiddha Prabal Janasewa Shree (first class).

Kashiraj Dahal, chairperson of the High Level Administrative Reforms Commission, will be decorated with Ujjwal Kirtimaya Rastradeep (second class). Dr Bhagwan Koirala and entrepreneur Rajesh Kaji Shrestha will receive Sukirtimaya Rastradeep (third class). The government has yet to fix the date of giving away the awards.


A version of this article appears in print on September 21, 2019 of The Himalayan Times.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories: