Major party leaders, envoys attend Naya Shakti inaugural

KATHMANDU: Leaders of major political parties and Kathmandu-based members of the diplomatic community on Sunday attended the announcement ceremony of the Naya Shakti Nepal, a new political party under the leadership of former prime minister Baburam Bhattarai.

Leaders of various political parties including CPN-UML Chairman and Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli, Nepali Congress President Sher Bahadur Deuba, CPN Maoist Centre's Krishna Bahadur Mahara, Federal Socialist Forum-Nepal Co-Chairman Rajendra Shrestha, Rastriya Prajatantra Party-Nepal's Sushil Kumar Shrestha and Rastriya Prajatantra Party's Sunil Bahadur Thapa were present at the function.

Likewise, representatives of the civil society, Kathmandu-based ambassadors of various nations and their representatives among others were present on the occasion.

India's Janata Dal United leader KC Tyagi and Nationalist Congress Party of India's General Secretary DP Tripathi had also addressed the function.

Singer Ram Krishna Dhakal had performed a song at the function.

CPN Maoist Centre Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal, a longtime colleague of Bhattarai, however, was absent. Oli had reached the programme venue around three hours after beginning of the function.