Maoist Centre forms 1,099-member Central Committee

KATHMANDU: The recently unified CPN Maoist Centre formed a 1,099- member Central Committee on Thursday.

A Politburo meeting held this morning at the party office in Paris Danda made the decision to that effect.

The party has also decided to form a 255-member Politburo and an 85-member Standing Committee.

Earlier on Wednesday, a task force formed to suggest size of various committees had recommended to from a 75-member Standing Committee and a 241-member Politburo.

According to the party, 999 names among 1,099 have been finalised today

It has been learned that the 100 positions have been left vacant as some leaders of the Netra Bikram Chand-led CPN Maoist and Baburam Bhattarai-led Naya Shakti Nepal might join the party.

The party was established after unification of 10 Maoist parties and factions on May 19 and is operating with a nine-member headquarters led by Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal.


Maoist Centre to fix size of top committees