Medical education probe panel summons officials

Kathmandu, Nov 12

The Medical Education Probe Committee has summoned 12 former and incumbent officials involved in granting affiliation to Kathmandu National Medical College to furnish clarification.

A meeting held by probe committee Chair Gauri Bahadur Karki decided to summon the then Vice-chancellor of Tribhuvan University Dr Hira Bahadur Maharjan, Vice-chancellor Dr Tirtha Khaniya, Rector Sudha Tripathi and Registrar Dilli Upreti, along with other officials involved in taking the decision.

Similarly, the committee has also decided to summon the technical team involved in inspecting the medical college. Dr Karbirnath Yogi, Dr Keshab Prasad Singh, Dr Parshuram Mishra, Dr Jyoti Sharma, Dr Ram Prasad Upreti and Pralhad Raj Panta were members of the technical team.

It has also decided to summon Dr Shashi Sharma, one of the members of the team sent earlier by the Nepal Medical Council for inspection of the medical college.

The probe committee was formed by the government as per the demand made by Dr Govinda KC to investigate irregularities in the medical education sector.