MoES drafting Varsity Bill

Kathmandu, June 11:

The Ministry of Education and Sports (MoES) has formed a task force to draft a Bill to regulate all five universities — Kathmandu, Tribhuvan, Purbanchal, Pokhara and Nepal Sanskrit.

The five-member team is headed by former education secretary Khagendra Basnet. “The committee has already started its work,” said Laba Prasad Tripathi, spokesperson of the ministry.

“A separate act for each university has made it difficult to regulate them. Bringing all the universities under the purview of a single act will facilitate the ministry in monitoring them,” he said.