Naya Shakti deserters to hold national gathering

KATHMANDU: Leaders who were expelled by the Naya Shakti Party Nepal have announced that they will hold a national gathering of leaders and cadres who deserted the Dr Baburam Bhattarai-led new party.

In a press meet held at Rafta Sanchar in Bhaktpur today, Nirmal Bhattarai claimed that around 1000 representatives from 52 districts will take part in the gathering in Bhakatpur tomorrow.

Naya Shakti Party’s central council members Sahadev Neupane, Ashok Dhungel, Munindra Basnet and Ram Raj Mangarati have announced that they have severed their ties with the party.

Four Central Council members of the Naya Shakti Party, Nirmal Bhattarai, Chandra Dev Ojha, Hari Ram Rimal and Mohan Bam, were purged by the party's special political committee yesterday on charge of working against the party's interests.

In the press conference, Bhattarai, however, fired back at the party leadership, accusing the supreme leader Dr Baburam Bhattarai of working on foreign interests. He claimed he and other leaders were expelled for protesting Dr Bhattarai's modus operandi and intent.

Dr Bhattarai plans to join hands with the Federal Socialist Forum Nepal but is is currently speaking against the local level elections, Bhattarai said.

The group of Naya Shakti deserters will take part in the local level elections, he informed.