NC authorises top 3 leaders to take decision on PM candidacy

KATHMANDU: Nepali Congress on Friday authorised top three leaders of the party to make a decision on the party's stance on new government formation including whether to field its own candidate.

General Secretary Krishna Prasad Sitaula said NC President Sushil Koirala, senior leader Sher Bahadur Deuba and Vice-President Ramchandra Paudel would take an appropriate decision regarding the prime ministerial candidacy, the Rastriya Samachar Samiti reported.

The meeting of party's Central Working Committee, which began on Wednesday, could not take any concrete decision on the matter but stressed that the Nepali Congress should try to form the new government in the party's leadership.

Also, most of the CWC members pointed out the need for unity among major parties for the implementation of Constitution and the resolution of issues in Madhes.

Now, the three leaders would hold talks with other parties with the first priority to form the new government in the leadership of Nepali Congress, Joint General Secretary of the party, Purna Bahadur Khakda, told a television station.

But the party would remain open for other alternatives also, according to him.

It has been learned that all three top leaders, including Koirala, have claimed their stake over the prime ministerial berth.

After the seven-day deadline for the formation of consensual government ended, President Dr Ram Baran Yadav today has called the parties in Parliament to elect the new Prime Minister through majority.

CPN-UML has already fielded the party chairman, KP Sharma Oli, as the candidate for the post of country's executive head.

With assurance of support from UCPN-Maoist and Rastriya Prajatantra Party-Nepal, the second largest party has been trying to woo other fringe parties as the Nepali Congress is buying time to make a concrete decision to lend support to Oli notwithstanding an apparent gentlemen's agreement among the top leaders of Nepali Congress, CPN-UML and UCPN-Maoist to help him earlier.

The Parliament will hold the election for the new Prime Minister on Sunday morning.

According to the election schedule, candidates are required to register their names for the election from 11 am to 4 pm on Saturday.