NC finalizing State Assembly members towards PR today

KATHMANDU: The Nepali Congress is carrying out the final home work for deciding the list of its State Assembly members towards the Proportional Representation (PR) category.

The meeting of the Nepali Congress central work execution committee that began at the Prime Minister's residence at Baluwater this morning will finalise the names of the PR members for the State Assemblies, according to the party.

The meeting is chaired by party President and Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba. Senior Leader Ram Chandra Poudel, General Secretary Dr Shashanka Koirala, Treasurer Sita Devi Yadav are attending the meeting among the party officials, along with senior central committee members. The Central Work Execution Committee of the NC has 29 members.

The NC is required to submit the list of names to be appointed as State Assembly members towards the PR category within the office hours today, as per the Election Commission's notice.

Chief Secretary at the NC office Krishna Prasad Poudel informed that other political issues will also be discussed at the meeting, including the ordinance related to constitution of the National Assembly that had been pending at the Office of the President for over two months, and the party being relegated to the second position from the first in the recently held elections.

This is the first time that the NC central work execution committee is meeting after the election of House of Representatives and State Assembly members.