NC Mahasamiti: Leaders draw consensus on number, composition of office bearers

KATHMANDU: Leaders of main opposition party Nepali Congress (NC) have agreed on the number and structure of office-bearers, today.

According to sources, an intra-party agreement has been reached to add eight co-General Secretaries. The total number of office-bearers after the revised agreement stands at 14.

Meanwhile, NC Spokesperson Bishwa Prakash Sharma told THT Online that the proposal for consensus will be presented at the closed session of the central committee meeting scheduled to be held this afternoon.

The committee will now have the party president, two vice-presidents, two general secretaries, eight co-general secretaries and one treasurer. Other than the treasurer, all others members will be elected via a voting process.

Likewise, on endorsement by the central committee, the draft statute report would be presented in tomorrow's meeting. A report on draft statute had so far not been presented due to long-standing dispute between different faction backed by party president Sher Bahadur Deuba and senior leader Ram Chandra Paudel, separately.

Nepali Congress had constituted a Statute Amendment Drafting Committee for making amendments to the party statute in line with the federal system as provisioned by the constitution.