Nominations for FSU polls filed in remaining Valley campuses

Kathmandu, February 21:

Student unions today filed nominations in some of the remaining campuses for the Free Students’ Union (FSU) election slated for February 28.

In Tribhuvan University Campus, which has the largest voters, a panel of Bhim Shrish (joint panel of Nepal Students’ Union (NSU) and NSU affiliated to NC-D) will contest with Rupesh Khatiwada’s panel of the All Nepal National Free Students’ Union (ANNFSU). The NSU said a group of students manhandled Kundan Raj Kafle, a presidential candidate, when the latter misbehaved with the election commissioner.

Meanwhile, a group of six students, who were named in the Nawaraj Gurung’s panel of ANNFSU, filed a petition to the election commissioner at Ratna Rajya Multiple Campus stating that their signatures were forged, hence wanted to withdraw their names from the list. Their names were also included in the nominations filed under the chairmanship of Nawaraj Poudel, ANNFSU nominee.

In some campuses student unions formed joint panels. In Nepal Law Campus, NSU and students’ wing of NC-D made a joint panel headed by Nagendra Kumal to contest with Nawaraj Thapaliya of ANNFSU. In Sanothimi Campus, a joint panel of Nepal Revolutionary Students Union, ANNFSU, ANNFSU (unified) headed by Raj Prajapati will contest with another joint panel of NSU and the NSU group headed by Dharma Karki. The NSU and ANNFSU joined hands under the leadership of Saroj KC at Manohara Campus to fight against the student wing of National Unity Council.

Sudarshan Timilsina (ANNFSU) and Badri Madwari (NSU) filed nominations at Gramin Adarsha M-ultiple Campus, Nepal Tar. Keshab Koirala of NSU and Sudharshan Dhungana of ANNFSU filed nominations at Balmiki Bidhyapeeth while Janak Raj Timilsina of NSU and Ram Krishna Ghimire of ANNFSU will contest in Nepal Commerce Campus.

A report from Birgunj said the administration of the Thakur Ram Multiple Campus today postponed the FSU election and closed the campus indefinitely citing the resignation of the Chief Election Officer.