Nepal | July 16, 2020

Oli elected prime minister with 338 votes

Prakash Acharya/ Tika R Pradhan
Share Now:
Newly-elected Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli waves to a gathering of people after the meeting of Parliament outside the Legislature-Parliament building, in New Baneshwor, Kathmandu, on Sunday. Photo: Skanda Gautam/ THT

Newly-elected Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli waves to a gathering of people after the meeting of Parliament outside the Legislature-Parliament building, in New Baneshwor, Kathmandu, on Sunday. Photo: Skanda Gautam/ THT

Kathmandu, October 11

CPN-M UML Chairman KP Sharma Oli was elected 38th prime minister of Nepal today by defeating Nepali Congress President Sushil Koirala with a margin of 89 votes.

Oli garnered 338 votes while Koirala polled 249 votes during the prime ministerial voting held today at the Parliament. After resignation of former Unified CPN-Maoist leader Baburam Bhattarai was accepted today just before voting began, seven members remained absent and two members of Tharuhat Tarai Party Nepal boycotted the voting, 587 members took part in the voting.

Fourteen parties, including UCPN-M, Rastriya Prajatantra Party-Nepal, Madhesi Janaadhikar Forum (Democratic), RPP, Nepal Workers’ and Peasants’ Party, CPN (Marxist Leninist), Rastriya Janamorcha, Rastriya Janamukti Party, Nepa: Rastriya Party, Bahujan Shakti Party and Samajbadi Janata Party voted for Oli. MJF-D led by Gachhadar had decided to support Oli following an eight-point agreement with UML and UCPN-M some 30 minutes before the voting began.

All agitating Madhes-based parties, except MJF-D, Tharuhat Tarai Party Nepal and some fringe parties, voted for Koirala. Four members – Hari Charan Sah of Nepali Janata Dal, Ram Kumar Rai of Khumbuwan Rastriya Morcha Nepal, Yashoda Kumari Lama of Dalit Janajati Party and independent member Atahar Kamal Musalman – who had seconded Oli’s nomination yesterday changed their position today and voted for Koirala.

NC’s four members – Pradip Giri, Jivan Pariyar, Badri Pande and Mohan Bahadur Basnet – were absent during voting. Giri reached the House late, Pariyar and Pande remained outside the voting hall as they had gone to check Pandey’s blood pressure assuming the meeting will prolong for sometime as representatives of parties were addressing the House before the actual voting began and returned late, while Basnet is in Singapore for his daughter’s health check-up, according to party sources. Rajya Laxmi Golchha of CPN-UML was also absent during voting.

Three of the four Sadbhawana Party lawmakers — Laxman Lal Karna, Bimal Kumar Kedia and Shail Kumari Devi, who had resigned from the Constituent Assembly — also took part in the election, as their resignations were not accepted. “We decided to vote against the ultra-left alliance which recognises Pahadi nationalism and does not respect Madhesis,” he said. He, however, said SP lawmakers had not withdrawn their resignations and if their resignations were accepted, they would not go to the Parliament.

READ ALSO: Koirala’s new address

Prime Minister Sushil Koirala after addressing the Legislature Parliament on Friday, October 02, 2015. Photo: THT

Mini Cabinet today

A version of this article appears in print on October 12, 2015 of The Himalayan Times.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories:

More from The Himalayan Times:

Surya Nepal donates Rs 10mln to COVID-19 fund

POKHARA: Surya Nepal Pvt Ltd has contributed ten million rupees to COVID-19 fund set up by Gandaki Province, on Tuesday. On behalf of Surya Nepal Pvt Ltd, Gautam Yadav and Baburam Karki handed over the cheque amount to Chief Minister Prithvi Subba Gurung. "This support has boosted our morale i Read More...

162 infected with coronavirus in Tanahun district

DAMAULI: As many as 162 persons have been infected with coronavirus in Tanahun district, so far. According to the District Health Office, 144 males and 18 females staying under quarantine upon arrival from foreign countries tested positive for the virus. DHO Chief Shankar Babu Adhikari said, Read More...

Three dead, one missing in Syangja landslide

POKHARA, JULY 14 Three lives were lost in a landslide in Kaligandaki Rural Municipality, Syangja, this morning. According to Syangja Chief District Officer Ganga Bahadur Chhetri, three of the six persons who had come to repair a drinking water pipeline at about 09:00am died after they were Read More...


339 sickle cell anaemia patients in Dang district

DANG, JULY 14 There are 339 patients of sickle cell anaemia in Dang. A total of 169 patients are under regular medication in Ghorahi Sub-Metropolitan City. Fifty-two news cases were found in the sub-metropolis and 118 new cases were found in Dangisaran Rural Municipality in tests carried out l Read More...

Decision to ramp up tests in Sudurpaschim yet to be implemented

DHANGADI, JULY 14 Sudurpaschim provincial government’s decision to set up coronavirus testing laboratories in several districts is yet to be implemented. It may be noted that the provincial government here in March-April had decided to establish a laboratory each in Baitadi and Doti, and one Read More...

DCC accords priority to implement Halesi masterplan

KHOTANG, JULY 14 The District Coordination Committee of Khotang has prioritised implementation of Halesi master plan. The fourth district assembly passed the resolution presented by DCC Chief Babi Chamling yesterday. The district assembly also prepared an annual programme for implementing the Read More...

Second phase of repatriation to begin today

KATHMANDU, JULY 14 The government is starting the second phase of repatriation process of stranded Nepalis across the world from Wednesday. After one month of the repatriation process, which started on June 10, the government had paused the process for a few days. However, officials at the Read More...

Public transport reopens gradually in valley

KATHMANDU, JULY 14 Almost four months after the government halted public transportation service to curb the spread of coronavirus, some transport operators have started resuming services within the Kathmandu valley. The government had finally decided on July 9 to allow the operation of public Read More...