PM Oli expands Cabinet inducting leaders from UML, fringe parties

KATHMANDU: Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli on Thursday expanded his Cabinet.

PM Oli inducted leaders of his own CPN-UML as well as some fringe parties including the CPN-ML and Janamorcha Nepal in the government today.

According to PM's press advisor Pramod Dahal, the new ministers would take oath of office and secrecy from the President at 4 pm.

Earlier, the Cabinet had 19 members including the Prime Ministers, three Deputy Prime Ministers, 13 Ministers and two State Ministers.


The names and portfolios of ministers is yet to be made public officially.

However, according to the sources, the following leaders will be sworn-in today as the Cabinet members:

  1. Bhim Bahadur Rawal (UML): Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Defence

  2. CP Mainali (ML): Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Women, Children and Social Welfare

  3. Chitra Bahadur KC (Janamorcha Nepal): Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Cooperatives and Poverty Alleviation

  4. Shanta Manavi (UML): Minister without portfolio

  5. Bishnu Prasad Paudel (UML): Minister for Finance

  6. Ananda Pokharel (UML): Minister for Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation

  7. Sher Dhan Rai (UML): Minister for Information and Communication Technology

The Cabinet hence has six Deputy Prime Ministers now.