Prof Sharma appointed TUSC chairperson

Kathmandu, July 21

Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli, who is also the Chancellor of Tribhuvan University, has appointed Prof Chaitanya Sharma as the chairperson of TU Service Commission.

The position remained vacant after Prof Ishwor Chandra Datta’s retired from the position.

After assuming office today, Prof Sharma said he would hire teaching and non-teaching staff in a fair and transparent way.

Talking to The Himalayan Times, Sharma said, “Two major functions of TU Service Commission are to recruit teaching and non-teaching staff and grant promotion to deserving and qualified employees. Thus, I will ensure transparency in the process of hiring teaching and non-teaching staff.”

Currently, TU Service Commission is in the process of hiring lecturers of various subjects through open and internal competition. “We have already published the result of written test. Those who have made it to the merit list will be interviewed in a few days,” said Prof Sharma.

Sharma was vice chairman of the dissolved the Higher Secondary Education Board, which has now been transformed into National Examination Board. He also worked as associate professor of Chemistry at TU.