Nepal | April 03, 2020

Sajha Yatayat to expand bus service in Kathmandu

Rastriya Samachar Samiti
New Sajha Yatayat buses

Photo Courtesy: Kanak Mani Dixit’s twitter

KATHMANDU: The Sajha Yatayat, a cooperative public transport limited, is all set to operate new buses along four routes in the Kathmandu Valley.

The Sajha Yatayat had written to the Bagmati Zonal Transport Management Office on November 9 seeking route permits for operation of its 30 new buses that it purchased from India.

Acting Chief Executive Officer of Sajha Yatayat, Mahendra Raj Pandey, informed that in addition to the eight buses that are already currently in operation, the Yatayat would add 30 new buses along the four routes for the convenience of the general public. “We are confident of getting the route permits in a couple of days and will operate the buses once we get the permit,” he said.

“We are confident of getting the route permits in a couple of days and will operate the buses once we get the permit,” he said.

According to executive officer Pandey, the company’s planned routes comprise major thoroughfares within the Valley.

The route number 1 includes Lagankhel, Jawalakhel, Kupandol, Tripureshwor, NAC, Jamal, Lainchaur, Lazimpat, Panipokhari, Tribhuvan University Teaching Hospital, Narayangopal Chok, Basundhara, Samakhusi Chok and New Buspark.

Likewise, under the route number 2 service, the two-way service will be available from the Tribhuvan International Airport to New Buspark via Tilganga, Gaushala, Ratopul, Jain Bhawan, Dilli Bazaar, Bagbazaar, Old Buspark, Sahid Gate, New Road, Jamal, Lainchaur, Thamel, Sorhakhutte, Naya Bazaar, Banasthali and Balaju Bypass.

The route number 3 expands from Koteshwor to Syambhu via Tinkune, Baneshwor, Maitighar, Singha Durbar, Sahid Gate, Tripureshwar, Teku, Kalimati, Soaltee Mode, Rabibhawan, Kalanki and Sitapaila.

Under the route number 4, eight old buses ply on the roads to and from Gwarko, Satdobato, Lagankhel, Jawalakhel, Kupandol, Tripureshwar, New Road, Jamal, Lainchaur, Lazimpat, Panipokhari, Teaching Hospital, Narayan Gopal Chok, Sahid Ganga Lal Hospital, Hattigaunda and Budhanilakantha.

With the 30 new buses, the Sajha Yatayat has a fleet of 46 buses.

Of the 46 buses, 38 will hit the road in the Kathmandu Valley in few days and rest eight will be operated in four regular routes out of the Valley.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories: