Kathmandu, December 30:

The Postal Service Department launched commemorative postal stamps today.

At a programme organised here today, Deputy Speaker Chitra Lekha Yadav affixed the cancellation marks on the stamps having the images of Mahesh Chandra Regmi, Bhrikuti, Shivapuri Baba, Pundit Udayananda Arjyal, Tara Devi and Ganesh Lal Shrestha under the personality series.

The postal stamps released today have images of the Siddakali Temple (Bhojpur), Bhageswor Temple (Dadeldhura), the Api Himal and artist’s impression of Prince Siddhartha Gautam attaining enlightenment. A postal stamp with the image of Chhaya Devi Parajuli, a diehard democracy activist, was also released.

Yadav said it is the historic task to bring out postal stamps in memory of the personalities, who have made the country famous worldwide. Shreedhar Gautam of the Postal Service Department and chairman of the Nepal Philatelic Society Omkar Prasad Gauchan highlighted contributions of those figuring in the commemorative stamps.