Nepal | April 03, 2020

Tarun Dal convention in September

Himalayan News Service

Kathmandu, April 14

Nepal Tarun Dal, a sister wing of Nepali Congress, today decided to hold its fourth National General Convention from September 9 to11.

Although the NTD’s convention is supposed to be held every three years, it has not been held for the past 11 years.

The NTD of then Nepali Congress had elected Binod Kayastha as chairman from the NGC held in November 2004 and the NTD of then Nepali Congress (Democratic) had elected Mahendra Yadav as chairman from the NGC held in June 2007.

The NC had nominated Yadav as chairman after the two parties merged in September 2007. After Yadav failed to hold NTD’s NGC, the party had nominated Udaya Shumsher Rana as NTD chairman three years ago.

The NTD will decide the venue of the NGC after consultations within the party, said NTD Chairman Rana.

A schedule of convention programmes was published today. As per the schedule, village and ward level conventions will be held on May 23, ward-level conventions on May 25, area-level conventions on June 2 and district-level conventions on June 7.

Six coordination committees were also formed.

They include economic committee headed by Radha Ghale, management committee headed by Krishna Dutta Paneru, policy and programme preparation committee headed by Narayan Prasad Bhattarai, publicity committee led by Medani Prasad Sitaula, guest hospitality committee headed by Tek Raj Paudel and volunteer committee headed by Binod Panta.

The NTD’s CWC meeting held from April 9-11 also decided to request the NC’s CWC to allow existing CWC members of the NTD to contest in the convention, according to Rana.

A version of this article appears in print on April 15, 2016 of The Himalayan Times.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories: