Top cops fined for not handing property details

KATHMANDU: Commission for the Investigation of Abuse of Authority on Monday imposed fine on two-dozen senior police officials and two administrators for not submitting their property details as per its directive.

The CIAA imposed the fine on a total of 48 police officials and two Trust Corporation administrators, Hema Raj Subedi and Semanta Raj Chapagain, on the charge of not furnishing property details.

The CIAA fined Senior Superintendents of Police Dr Suman Sumsher JBR, Dr Komal Kiran Pradhan, Dr Surendra Kumar Shrestha, Dr Bhakta Bahadur Singh, Dr Kanhaiya Bahadur Shrestha and other police officials Rs 5,000 each, as they did not submit their property details to the Police Personnel Record, a statement released by the corruption watchdog said.

Those who did not furnish their property details include Acting Superintendents of Police Dr Dinesh Chandra Pokharel and Dr Ajit Kumar Gurung, Deputy Superintendents of Police Dr Asha Singh, Dr Suman Raja Shrestha, Dr Bir Chandra Gurung, Keshari Raj Ghimire, Uttam Bahadur Singh, Yagya Binod Pokharel, Dayananda Mallik, Jagatman Shrestha, Meera Thapa and Gopal Mathchhe.

Other senior officials to flout the CIAA directive include DSP Dr Sundar Prasad Haiju, Raju Vaidya, Ramdevi Gurung, Dr Sarad Man Tamrakar, Dr Pankaj Chaudhari, Dr Sanjaya Bikram Shrestha and Rajendra Bista.

A number of Nepal Police Inspectors, SP Durga Prasad Bhattarai and DSP Raju Adhikari of the Armed Police Force also flouted the CIAA directives. The defaulters have got 30 days to pay the fine and furnish the details.