UML picks NA candidates; condemns diffusion issuance against Silwal

KATHMANDU: A meeting of CPN-UML standing committee has finalised names of candidates to contest in the upcoming National Assembly (NA) elections.

As per the meeting’s decision, Kamala Oli, Indu Kedi, Chakra Prasad Snehi, Daderiya Bista, Sher Bahadur Kunwar will contest from Province 7.

Likewise, Kavita Bogati, Nanda Sharma, Narpati Lohar, Bhairabsundar Shrestha, Thagendra Puri from Province 6 and Ramlakhan Harijan, Khimlal Bhattarai, Meena Budha and Komal Oli from Province 5 will contest in the NA elections.

The NA elections is being held on February 7.

At the 96th standing-committee meeting held on January 22 at UML Chair KP Sharma Oli’s residence in Balkot, Chairman Oli briefed the committee about positive progress on unification process of CPN-UML and CPN Maoist Centre.

He further directed the party members to work for strengthening the unification process, according to party secretary Pradeep Kumar Gyawali.

Party brings Nawaraj Silwal issue on table

At the same meeting, the party said its attention has been drawn towards the news about Nepal Police issuing a diffusion notice against former DIG and CPN-UML Member of Federal Paliament, Nawaraj Silwal.

The meeting called for the government to not pursue such biased vendetta by giving out exaggerated information to INTERPOL against a freshly elected people’s representative.