6 UDMF leaders held after trying to foil MPs' programme

RAUTAHAT: At least six local leaders of the United Democratic Madhesi Front (UDMF) were detained after they tried to foil a programme of Rabindra Adhikari, the chairperson of Parliament's Development Committee, in Rautahat on Tuesday.

Those detained have been identified as Sadbhawana Party district leader Sheikh Jamshed, Tarai Madhes Democratic Party (TMDP) district leader Anil Singh, Federal Socialist Forum-Nepal (FSF-N) district secretary Dharmendra Patel, leader Shobha Sah, and student leaders Prakash Bhai and Laddu Yadav, according to the District Police Office, Rautahat.

Adhikari, who is a Member of Parliament from Kaski district, had reached Rautahat to inspect an under construction bridge over the Bagmati River along with lawmakers Ram Chandra Bhattarai, Ram Ayodha Yadav and Ram Kumar Bhattarai.

Police said the six were detained after they showed black flags to Adhikari and attempted to foil the scheduled programme.