CC fails to make crucial nominations

KATHMANDU: The meeting of Constitutional council headed by Prime Minister Madhav Kumar Nepal today could not decide on Chief Commissioner of the Commission for the Investigation of Abuse of Authority and commissioners for various other constitutional bodies lying vacant for long.

Due to the absence of three ex-officio members, the council could not take any decision to fill the vacancies. “The Prime Minister should take the issue sensitively,” Deputy Prime Minister Bijaya Kumar Gachhadar, an ex-officio member of the committee told reporters.

DPM Sujata Koirala, Defence Minister Bidhya Bhandari and opposition Leader Pushpa Kamal Dahal “Prachanda” did not attend today’s meeting. Responding to Chief Justice Anup Raj Sharma’s denial of administering oath to recently appointed CIAA Commissioner Keshav Prasad Baral citing legal hurdle, the PM called the CC meeting to select the Chief Commissioner. CJ Sharma and CA chairman Subash Chandra Nembang were also present in the meeting.