Constituency watch — kATHMANDU 4: Tight fight on the cards

There are 24 candidates in the Constituency No. 4, including Bidhya Devi Bhandari (UML), Suprabha Ghimire (NC), Yogendra K Shrestha (RPP), Pawan Man Shrestha (Maoist).

This constituency consists of Wards 1 (Royal Palace, Naxal), 7 (Chabahil area), 8 (Guashala), and 33 (Gyaneswore, Dillibazar) of Kathmandu Metropolitan City, and the VDCs Mahankal, Chapali Bhadrakali, Chunikhel, Kapan.

Previous winners from Constituency No. 4 of Kathmandu are PL Singh (NC, 1998) and Padma Ratna Tuladhar (UML, 1994, 1991).

In 1991 general elections, Kathmandu had only 5 constituencies, which were different from the current ones. The number of constituencies was raised to 7 in 1994.