CPN-MC CC to exceed 699 members

Kathmandu, May 30

The task force formed to finalise the central committee and politburo of the unified Maoist parties CPN-Maoist Centre is facing difficulty managing numbers within the proposed 699 and is thus expected to increase it.

According to leader Urmila Aryal, the strength of the central committee would be increased because most of the central committee members of the parties joining the unification process were very junior compared to leaders of the then Unified CPN Maoist and therefore a large number of leaders were dissatisfied.

“To address discontentment among leaders of the then UCPN-M, the central committee needs to be increased,” said Aryal.

She further said the members of the National Convention Organising Committee would be sent to villages and municipals to strengthen the organisation of the party and the national convention would bring the central committee to a proper size.

The party is facing vehement criticism from different sections of society for making such a bulky central committee.

After the party failed to finalise the central committee and politburo, a nine-member headquarter was announced including Ram Bahadur Thapa, Narayan Kaji Shrestha, Krishna Bahadur Mahara, Dev Gurung, Mani Thapa, Matrika Yadav, Tilak Pariyar and Jayapuri Gharti, besides Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal.

Spokesperson Pampha Bhushal said the task force would only suggest to the party headquarter about the numbers, but it is up to the central party office to take the appropriate decision.

A taskforce was formed, including Barshaman Pun, Janardan Sharma, Urmila Aryal, Pampha Bhushal and Kul Prasad KC, among others, to finalise the number and portfolios of the central committee and the politburo.