Power-sharing deal

KATHMANDU: The Party Unification Coordination Committee formed by the CPN-UML and CPN-Maoist Centre agreed on Wednesday that UML would have the prime minister, president and deputy speaker, while CPN-MC would have the vice-president and the speaker.

On Tuesday it was decided that KP Sharma Oli and Pushpa Kamal Dahal would co-chair the unified party.

According to UML Vice-chairman Bamdev Gautam, the PUCC also agreed to form two separate task forces to narrow down differences on the unified party’s ideology and its organisational structure. The task forces will be formed in the next PUCC meeting.