Deuba nominates Dina in Nepali Congress CWC

KATHMANDU: Nepali Congress President Sher Bahadur Deuba on Sunday nominated Mahalaxmi Upadhyaya 'Dina' in the party's Central Working Committee.

Deuba made the nomination as per the party's statute, according to the Nepali Congress Central Office.

Upadhyaya was defeated in the elections during the party's General Convention held in Kathmandu in March.

She, who is a Member of Parliament, was in the CWC earlier also.

After taking up the reins of the largest democratic party in March, Deuba had nominated seven leaders -- Ram Chandra Paudel, Krishna Prasad Sitaula, Arjun Narsingha KC, Gagan Kumar Thapa, Chitra Lekha Yadav, Uma Kanta Chaudhary and Narahari Acharya -- in the CWC.

Six of the nominees, except Narahari Acharya, had lost elections for three top posts during the General Convention.

The Nepali Congress president later brought three others -- Kishor Singh Rathaur, Keshav Kumar Budhathoki and Shyam Kumar Ghimire -- on board the CWC.