Dhangadhi, Tikapur removed from riot-hit zone list, army back to barrack

DHANGADHI: The Kailali District Administration Office (DAO) said Dhangadhi and Tikapur municipalities as well as  10 VDCs of the district are no more riot-hit zones.

Subsequently, the Nepal Army personnel mobilised after the order returned to their barracks.

The DAO had declared the municipalities and VDCs riot-hit zones, issued prohibitory orders and mobilised army after eight police personnel and a child were killed during a protest in Tikapur on August 24.

The DAO said the order was lifted in effect from Wednesday midnight.

After withdrawal of the decision to declare riot-hit zone, the situation is gradually returning to normalcy in Kailali.

Laws do not allow the DAO to extend the decision to make some areas riot-hit zone beyond one month. Therefore, the DAO did not have any option, but to withdraw the decision.

However, the DAO has demanded extension of the order to the Ministry of Home Affairs, but the response is yet to come.

“The riot-hit zone has been removed and the security situation of Kailali is also improving,” Chief District Officer, Mohan Chapagain, said.

Similarly, the local administration has also relaxed the time of prohibitory order and curfew in Tikapur Municipality and 10 VDCs around. Curfew has been lifted for 10 hours a day in Munuwa, Narayanpur, Joshipur, Durgauli, Bhajani and Khailad VDCs among others.

Likewise, the curfew is imposed from 1 pm to 4 pm everyday in Dhangadhi.