EC calls for reliable security for election

Kathmandu, April 5:

The Election Commission today called Home Secretary and chiefs of security bodies at its office to get an update on the security situation in the country.

The meeting was called after three minor blasts rocked the capital yesterday. The blasts had, however, caused no human damage.

A press statement issued by the EC said the commissioners directed the security chiefs to make the security situation reliable to

hold CA polls in a secure environment. Chiefs of all security bodies and all commissioners were present in the meeting.

Meanwhile, the EC clarified that the election code of conduct only prohibits the media from publishing news on election campaigns and it does not bar the media from disseminating election-related information during the Silence Period.

The Silence Period begins from April 8 prohibits the parties and candidates from electioneering, disseminating political messages, organising meetings and rallies, chanting slogans and campaigning by any other means, the press release said.

It further states, “The media also cannot publish or broadcast election campaigns, political

messages and any other information targeting any political party or candidate.”

The EC said the media is free for disseminating information on voters’ education, notices on election, informative messages on the election and information on election activities. “This only prohibits the parties and candidates and has no intention to curb the people’s right to information,” it adds.

Likewise, the Election Commission also condemned the alleged involvement of YCL cadres in attacking the principal of Goganpani Lower Secondary School, who was deputed to Chamanpur Election Centre in Dhading, yesterday. The EC has also directed the political party concerned to take action against those who were involved in the incident.

The Commission also appealed to all social organisations to provide drinking water and first aid services in polling stations all over the country on the election day. There are 20,888 polling centres in 9,821 locations (polling stations) across the country.