Election Commission declares results for three cities

Kathmandu, February 10:

The Election Commission today declared results of municipal elections in three cities, out of four where vote counting continued today.

Rajaram Shrestha and Biamala Rana, both representing RPP-Thapa, were declared mayor and deputy mayors of Kathmandu Metropolitan City. Shrestha secured 24,356 votes while Rana secured 22,592 votes.

In Biratnagar Municipality, Pralhad Sah Halwai won mayors seat by securing 7,645 votes, while Durga Prasad Adhikari won deputy mayor’s seat by securing 7,218 votes.

Both represent the Rastriya Prajatantra Party led by Home Minister Kamal Thapa.

And in Gaur Ajaya Kumar Gupta and Bhikhari Sahani won mayor’s and deputy mayors seats by securing 4,318 and 4,113 votes respectively.

Both the winners are independent candidates.

Only Birgunj Sub-Metropolitan City is left to declare its elected mayors, deputy-mayors and other representatives of the election held on Wednesday.

On the other hand, mayor and deputy mayor of Bhaktapur Municipality Sumitra Madhikarmi and Sarju Hada, both elected unopposed, had to face protests from the local activists when they tried to enter the municipality office today, according to the locals.

The municipal election took place on Wednesday for a total of 618 positions — 34 mayors, 25 deputy mayors, 197 ward chairpersons, 291 ward members and 71 women ward members. Out of 72 registered parties registered at Election Commission for the purpose of participating in the civic elections, only 22 participated on the pretext of security and other reasons.