Nepal | April 03, 2020

Election Commission scraps registration of 15 political parties

Himalayan News Service

Kathmandu, March 6

The Election Commission today scrapped the registration of 15 political parties, including that of Samajwadi Janata Party led by Prem Bahadur Singh, who is also the Minister of Water Supply and Sanitation, for not submitting the party’s income-expenditure reports for three consecutive fiscal years.

The Election Commission took the decision as per Election Commission Act.

Election Commissioner Ila Sharma said five political parties could avoid cancellation as they submitted the details of income and expenditure within the extended deadline but 15 parties’ registration was cancelled for failing to submit the required details even within the extended deadline.

The parties whose registration was cancelled include Samajwadi Janata Dal, Janata Dal United, Janata Party Nepal, Nepali Janata Party, Nepal Janabhawana Party, Sa-Shakti Nepal, Nepal Rastriya Loktantrik Dal, Nepal Rastriya Janakalyan Party, Janamukti Party, Janamukti Party Nepal, Shiva Sena, Liberal Samajwadi Party, Nepal Samyawadi Dal, Nawa Nepal Prajatantrik Dal, Sanghiya Loktantrik Rastriya Party and Samajwadi Party.

Sharma said cancellation of parties’ registration on grounds of their failure to submit details of their income and expenditure was important to ensure financial transparency.

Spokesperson for Parliament Secretariat Bharat Raj Gautam said there was no clarity in the laws and the constitution on how to deal with the political parties that had representation in the Parliament but their registration were cancelled by the EC and added that the Parliament Secretariat would take a decision later on the fate of Singh-led party.

A version of this article appears in print on March 07, 2016 of The Himalayan Times.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories: