RAUTAHAT: The process of filing the nominations for the third phase of local level elections is underway in eight districts of Province 2.

All political parties including Rastriya Janata Party Nepal and independent candidates are in queue from 10:00 this morning.

According to Chief Returning Officer of Rautahat Lekhanath Dhakal, security personnel have been mobilised for to conduct the filing in fear-free and peaceful manner.

Candidates can file their nominations till 5:00 pm. The candidates queuing up to file papers just before 5:00 pm could still file the candidacy even after deadline, added Dhakal.

The third phase of local level elections is slated for September 18 in 136 local levels of eight districts of Province 2. Of the 136 local levels, there is one metropolitan city, three sub-metropolitan cities, 73 municipalities and 59 rural municipalities in Province 2.

A total of 6,627 representatives would be elected by 2,664,950 eligible voters of Province 2 in the third phase of civic polls.

As many as 2,166 polling stations and 578 polling centres have been set up for elections, according to the EC. Apart from security personnel, 31,500 government employees will be mobilised for the polls.

The first phase of local level elections was held on May 14 in 283 local levels of provinces 3, 4 and 6, while the second phase was held on June 28 in 334 local levels of provinces 1, 5 and 7.