Five killed in Nawalpur car-truck collision

NAWALPUR: As many as five persons died on the spot after the car they were travelling on collided with a truck in Kawasoti Municipality-8 of Nawalpur district on Monday night.

The deceased have been identified as Purna Bahadur Bishwakarma alias Deepak of Keureni in Devchuli Municipality-1, Dil Bahadur Dhenga Magar of Devchuli-5, Suraj Rana Magar of Kailai, Dipesh Rana and Hira Rana, both of Prithvinagar in Devchuli-10.

According to Nawalpur District Police Office, the incident occurred when the car (Ba 21 Cha 6409) heading from Pragatinagar to Kawasoti and the truck (Lu 1 Kha 8532) collided head-on in Kharkatta forest area at around 10:30 pm yesterday.

The bodies of the deceased have been sent to Dunkauli Primary Health Centre for postmortem, informed police.

In another incident, a person died and 15 others sustained injuries after the passenger bus they were travelling on lost control in Arunkhola on Monday night.

The deceased has been identified as bus driver Laxman Timilsina (35) of Hetauda in Makawanpur district.

Timilsina was injured in the accident and rushed to Bharatpur-based old Medical College where he succumbed to his injuries during the course of treatment, informed police. The bus (Na 7 Kha 8642) was en route to Kathmandu from Dang when the incident occurred.

The injured passengers are receiving treatment at various hospitals.

Likewise, seven persons were injured after a bus (Na 4 Kha 9510) lost control and overturned on the side in Chormara on Tuesday morning, Nawalpur police said. The bus was heading from Surkhet to Birgunj.

The injured are undergoing treatment in various health facilities, police added.

Meanwhile, investigations into the cases are underway.